Leadership Award

Bill McIntyre Leadership Award

Recognizing Excellence in Construction
Risk Management Leadership

Established in 2018, this award recognizes visionary leaders that demonstrate commitment to construction risk management through creativity, service, mentoring, and education.The award will be presented every year at the IRMI Construction Risk Conference (CRC)

It is named for IRMI Executive Chairman Bill McIntyre, who has inspired, trained, and educated thousands of risk professionals and is a passionate advocate of construction risk management and safety.

Submission deadline is September 7, 2022.

Request A Submission Packet

We hate spam as much as you do. You have our promise we will never sell or share your email address. For more details, please refer to our privacy policy.

Tim East

The 2021 Bill McIntyre Leadership Award was presented at the 41st IRMI Construction Risk Conference to Tim East, executive director of enterprise risk management for The Walt Disney Company.

Sponsored by


Leadership Award Submission Process

All submissions are due by September 7, 2022. To learn more about the award submission process and to download a submission packet, click on the topics below.

The award is open to professionals charged with managing construction risks for their employers. Nominees should have at least 10 years of experience in construction risk management roles at the time of application for the award. Individuals who meet the 10-year experience qualification and have retired from their risk management position in the last 5 years are also eligible.  

Candidates may be nominated or may nominate themselves by completing a submission packet. Read all of the guidelines before beginning work on your submission. The completed submission must be received by IRMI on or before September 7, 2022. Use your submission checklist and return it with your submission.

Information to evaluate the nominated candidate’s leadership must be provided by completing the submission packet and returning it along with the candidate’s professional biography. It is suggested that each section not be more than 5 pages in length and the total submission be no more than 10 pages, excluding charts, illustrations, and other accompanying documentation. Required items include the following. 

  • An overview that provides a brief description of the nominee’s qualifications for the award 

  • Description of the actions and achievements that make the nominee a leader in construction risk management 

  • Description of how these actions and achievements have benefited construction risk management 

  • Executed publishing agreement 

Eligible submissions will be judged by a group of leading construction risk and insurance specialists. Submissions will be evaluated on the following criteria. 

• Commitment to construction risk management  

• Acts with integrity  

• Selflessness in serving construction risk management  

• Creativity/vision for construction risk management  

• Nurtures and encourages professional growth in construction risk management  

• Communication 

Every eligible submission received will be judged individually by each member of the judging panel based on the submission criteria outlined above. One winner will be selected from all eligible submissions received. Nominees not chosen will roll forward to the next year for consideration unless we are notified to remove them from the nominee pool.

More Information

About the Award

Mission Statement

The purpose is to recognize an individual whose significant contributions have improved construction risk management. Spotlighting these achievements will incentivize others in the industry to lead by example.

Who Is Bill McIntyre?

Image of Bill McIntyre

Bill McIntyre, IRMI's owner and chairman of the board, has been involved in commercial insurance and risk management for over 40 years and holds the CPCU and ARM professional designations. He is chairman of American Contractors Insurance Group and a shareholder in American Risk Transfer Insurance Company, Ltd., a Bermuda-based captive reinsurance company. Mr. McIntyre is the founder of IRMI and originator of many of IRMI's research ideas and services.

Leadership Award Winners

2021 Winner | Tim East

Mr. East has been involved in construction risk management for more than 30 years and currently serves as an executive director of enterprise risk management for The Walt Disney Company, overseeing teams responsible for risk finance, decision support and expense allocations. As the Chair and CEO of the California Self-insurers Security Fund, he oversees the management of the California SISF, a 501(c)6 mutual benefit corporation of over 350 member companies.

Mr. East’s work has been recognized and received numerous awards, including Associate in Risk Management (ARM) Distinguished Graduate Award, Christy Award, and Worker's Compensation Professional of the Year. 

His professional credentials include Associate in Risk Management (ARM), Certificate in Professional Management, Certified Self-insurance Administrator, Professional Certification in Occupational Safety and Health, and he has served as a guest lecturer at the University of Southern California's Marshall School of Business Administration and at California State University College of Business and Economics.

Read the full press release.

Prior Winners

  • 2020 Winner | Tricia Kagerer

  • 2019 Winner | David Dolnick

  • 2018 Winner | Dick Walterhouse