Skip to Content

Press Release

North American Contractor Certification Program Receives 2020 Gary E. Bird Horizon Award

Dallas, TX, October 19, 2020—The North American Contractor Certification (NACC) Program received the 2020 Gary E. Bird Horizon Award today at the International Risk Management Institute, Inc. (IRMI) Construction Risk [Virtual] Conference (CRC). Program Technical Director Ben Beeler accepted the prestigious honor on behalf of the Architectural Glass and Metal Certification Council (AGMCC).

The NACC Certification Program was developed with input from architects, engineers, general contractors, glazing contractors, consultants, specifications specialists, and glass industry manufacturers and suppliers. All aspects of the program are managed and administered by an independent third-party organization, and it is governed by a committee composed of the same cross-section of industry experts and stakeholders that helped develop it. The program is sponsored by the AGMCC, a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit, public benefit organization.

Mr. Beeler’s winning submission, "A Certification Program Providing Consistency, Quality, and Safety Benchmarks," highlighted the program’s comprehensive certification process, which assesses contractor proficiency in five areas: business practices, safety, glazing processes, contract administration, and quality management.

Submissions are judged by an independent panel of seven industry professionals. The 2020 judges are as follows.

  • Steve Bird, principal consultant, Esses Consulting Inc.
  • Kathleen Creedon, owner/consultant, Wrap Strategies
  • David Dolnick, president, Dolnick Risk Advisors
  • Karen Keniff, vice president, national lead for large and complex construction risk, CNA
  • Jennifer Lee, vice president, national practice lead, loss sensitive and wrap-up, construction, Travelers
  • TJ Lyons, safety professional, DPR Construction
  • Joseph Russo, executive vice president, regional construction industry leader—Northeast, Willis Towers Watson

"While certification programs are nothing new, the applicability of a certification process to construction risk management-related functions is quite unique, especially in the construction trades," Dolnick noted. "That this program followed well established models in construction further supports both the functionality of it and the unique adaptation of those established methods to the problem at hand."

The Gary E. Bird Horizon Award, sponsored by Travelers, is presented annually by IRMI to recognize a demonstrated commitment to improving construction risk management through the implementation of innovative, cost-effective, and efficient risk management techniques.

The other finalist for the award was Lois Hamilton, safety and operations coordinator on behalf of TEXO Association, for her submission, "Reimagining the Building Process."

For more information, including how to submit a nomination for the 2021 award, visit Construction Risk Conference—Gary E. Bird Horizon Award.

About IRMI

For more than 40 years, IRMI has helped our customers save lives and livelihoods as the premier provider of risk management and insurance information, tools, education, and training. IRMI helps risk management, insurance, and legal professionals make better decisions for their companies and clients with unbiased expertise and balanced, comprehensive content. 

Find Out More