Gary E. Bird Horizon Award

Given every year at the IRMI Construction Risk Conference (CRC), the award is named in honor of Gary E. Bird. Gary expanded the risk management horizon as he searched for new and innovative ways to approach the risks associated with large construction projects. He also demonstrated his industry leadership by mentoring a generation of construction professionals.

Sponsored by

2022 Horizon Award Winner: Jordan Foster Construction

The Jordan Foster Construction risk management team received the 2022 Gary E. Bird Horizon Award today at the International Risk Management Institute, Inc. (IRMI), Construction Risk Conference (CRC) for their submission, “Stop! Collaborate and Listen: Using Technology To Create Intentional Communication Channels To Minimize Risk, Increase Productivity, and Achieve Performance Excellence in the Construction Industry.”

Read Full Press Release

Know someone who is an innovator in construction risk management?

Nominate a friend, peer, or colleague who deserves this award. Use the following form to receive a submission packet.

Submission deadline is August 31, 2023.

Request A Submission Packet

We will not sell or share your email address. For more details, review our privacy policy.

Gary E Bird - for whom Gary E Bird Horizon Award is named

Who Was Gary Bird?

Gary Bird was the director of risk management for Phelps Dodge Corporation for 12 years, the original author of The Wrap-Up Guide published by IRMI, and a forward-thinking and respected member of the construction risk management community. 

Along with many friends and colleagues, Gary tragically died on September 11, 2001. Afterward, IRMI renamed the Construction Risk Management Best Practices Award the Gary E. Bird Horizon Award in honor of his memory.

Horizon Award Submission Process

We will begin accepting nominations for the 2023 awards early next year. To learn more about the award submission process and to download a submission packet, click on the topics below. 

Submission Process Details

Previous Horizon Award Winners