Home > Glossary

State Funds

State Funds


State-owned and operated organizations that write workers compensation insurance. Some states have monopolistic funds, which are the only market for workers compensation insurance in those states. Other states have competitive funds that compete with insurers in that state only. The monopolistic fund states are North Dakota, Ohio, Washington, and Wyoming. Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands also have monopolistic funds. Currently, 20 other states offer the option of purchasing workers compensation insurance from a competitive state fund.

Related Terms

Related Products


Social Media

User ID: Subscriber Status:Free