Skip to Content

criteria pollutant

The 1970 amendments to the Clean Air Act (CAA) required the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to set National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for certain pollutants known to be hazardous to human health, which are called criteria pollutants.

On This Page

Additional Information

The EPA has identified and set standards to protect human health and welfare for six pollutants: ozone, carbon monoxide, total suspended particulates, sulfur dioxide, lead, and nitrogen oxide. The term "criteria pollutants" derives from the requirement that the EPA must describe the characteristics and potential health and welfare effects of these pollutants. It is on the basis of these criteria that standards are set or revised.

Related Terms

A designated pollutant is an air pollutant that is neither a criteria nor hazardous pollutant, as...

The Clean Air Act (CAA) of 1970 is a federal act regulating the emission of harmful pollutants into...