Home > Glossary

Building Codes Effectiveness Grading Schedule

Building Codes Effectiveness Grading Schedule (BCEGS)


A schedule developed by Insurance Office Services, Inc. (ISO), that categorizes communities according to the adequacy of their building codes and the effectiveness of building code enforcement. Communities are graded from 1 (indicating exemplary commitment to building code enforcement) to 10. In states where all of the communities have been graded and the BCEGS system has been implemented, the BCEGS grade for the community where the property is located is used in developing the premium for windstorm and hail coverage for buildings constructed during or after the year in which the community was graded. Building code effectiveness grades for communities are published in ISO's Public Protection Classification Manual.

Related Products


Social Media

User ID: Subscriber Status:Free