Press Releases


IRMI Announces New Award Recognizing Construction Risk Industry Leaders

Release Date: Jun 27, 2018

Dallas, TX—Today, International Risk Management Institute, Inc. (IRMI), announced a new Gary E. Bird Horizon Leadership Award as a companion to the Innovation Award that has been bestowed on construction industry trailblazers since 1999.

The new Leadership Award recognizes an individual whose career-long dedication to the industry has generated significant contributions that have improved construction risk management and insurance. Any individual involved in the management of construction risks is eligible for consideration, such as insurance and surety professionals, loss control specialists, and legal professionals. Unlike the Innovation Award, it is not a requirement that Leadership Award nominees be employed by construction companies. Submissions will be evaluated on criteria such as commitment, selflessness, creativity and vision, and mentoring and education efforts.

The Innovation Award promotes the awareness of inventive risk management techniques, processes, and programs that are effective in the construction industry. Submissions are accepted in five categories: Enterprise Risk Management, Loss Control, Risk Analysis, Risk Financing, and Risk Transfer. The award is open to all full-time professionals charged with managing construction risks for their employers, including but not limited to risk managers, chief financial officers, safety managers, loss control specialists, claim managers, and risk management teams.

Both awards are sponsored by Travelers and are presented annually at the IRMI Construction Risk Conference, which will be held this year in Houston, Texas, November 4–7.

“By spotlighting these achievements and best practices, IRMI and Travelers hope to inspire and incentivize others in the construction industry to lead by example and pioneer groundbreaking ideas within the risk management community,” said Jack Gibson, IRMI president and CEO.

The awards are named in honor of Gary E. Bird, a nationally known risk management expert lost along with many other risk and insurance colleagues in the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. Gary expanded the risk management horizon as he searched for new and innovative ways to approach the risks associated with construction projects. He also demonstrated his industry leadership by mentoring a generation of construction professionals and sharing his knowledge regarding wrap-up programs through his definitive book on the subject, The Wrap-Up Guide.

IRMI is now accepting applications for both awards, and entries are due on or before August 24. To review the submission guidelines and eligibility requirements, visit

About IRMI:
For 40 years, IRMI has been the premier risk management authority. IRMI helps insurance and risk management professionals succeed by providing content, conferences, CE, certifications, and community. For more information, visit

Heidi Vincent
(800) 827–4242