Gary E. Bird Horizon Award

Sponsored by Travelers

The Gary E. Bird Horizon Award recognizes innovation in construction risk management. The award is named in honor of Gary E. Bird, a nationally known risk management expert lost in the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. Gary expanded the risk management horizon as he searched for new and innovative ways to approach the risks associated with large construction projects. Learn more about Gary in this speech from the 2002 Conference. Download a promotional flyer listing the prizes and benefits of the Gary E. Bird Horizon Award.

The submission deadline is August 17 each year.

Nominate yourself or a colleague.

Go back to IRMI Construction Risk Conference website.

2014 Winner

The Gary E. Bird Horizon Award was presented to Michael W. Bennett, Vice President of HSE & HR, and Scott Knowlen, Corporate Health, Safety, Security, & Environmental Manager, of Cianbro Corporation. The honor, presented at the 34th IRMI Construction Risk Conference, recognized the team for its innovative loss control program. Read the press release, learn more about their program, and see the previous winners of the award.

Learn More about the Award

Mission Statement

To promote the awareness of innovative risk management processes and techniques that are cost-efficient and effective in the construction industry. The identification and communication of these best practices will assist others in the risk management community to review and develop their own best practices.

Prizes and Benefits

  • Winner receives roundtrip coach airfare, free hotel accommodations during the Conference, complimentary registration, and an elegant award for office display

  • All qualified candidates (and if applicable, the person nominating them) are recognized at a General Session attended by over 1,500 industry leaders. The winner is announced at the same General Session and at a Luncheon held to honor the winner.

Back to top


The award is open to all full-time business professionals charged with managing construction risks for their employers (including but not limited to risk managers, chief financial officers, safety managers, loss control specialists, claim managers, and risk management teams). Nominees must have been in their current positions at least 3 years at the time of application for the award and have been involved in the development of a construction-oriented risk management technique, process, or program that is innovative, cost-efficient, and effective. Nonprofit construction industry trade groups are also eligible based on their development of innovative techniques, processes, or programs for implementation by their members.

The award is presented to one representative of the winning company or team. In the event the award is a joint submission from multiple unrelated companies, no more than two individuals will receive the award.

Back to top

Industry Notification

In order to get the word out to the industry about the importance of risk management innovation, IRMI will produce the following items about the winning technique, process or program:

  • Press release to industry publications
  • Announcements on and in our e-mail newsletter, IRMI Update
  • Summary or detailed description of the winning technique, process, or program available on

Back to top

Previous Winners

Read about the innovative programs of past winners of the award here.

Submission Process

To learn more about the award submission process, how to prequalify a candidate, and to download a submission packet click on the topics below:

Back to top

IRMI Emmett J Vaughan Agribusiness Conference
Learn More